Women’s Golf to compete in the NSIC Fall Championship
Wednesday, October 3, 2012
Women’s Golf to compete in the NSIC Fall Championship

BEMIDJI, Minn. — The Bemidji State University women’s golf team gets ready to take part in the first half of the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) Championship at The Classic at Madden’s in Brainerd, Minn. this Saturday and Sunday with 8 am scheduled tee times. However, due to frost the championship might not start until later in the day.

BSU is seventh out of 11 in NSIC play with an average of 342.9 strokes per game. The team is led by Monica Wold (Fr., Crookston, Minn.) with an average of 83.0 (+11) per game.

The teams competing against BSU in the NSIC Championship are: Minnesota State University, Mankato, Minnesota State University, Moorhead, Southwest Minnesota State University, University of Minnesota, Crookston, St. Cloud State University, Concordia University, St. Paul, Augustana College, Wayne State College, Winona State University, and Upper Iowa University.

Last weekend the Beavers came in first at their own Bemidji State Invitational at the Bemidji Town and Country Club in Bemidji, Minn. The team recorded a 339 (+51) to place it 33 strokes ahead of the second place team, Minnesota State University, Moorhead.

BSU’s M. Wold took home first place with a score of 80 (+8). Rachel Wold (Jr., Crookston, Minn.) and Kelly Blair (Fr., International Falls, Minn.) recorded matching scores of 86 (+14), but R. Wold took third place honors due to carding a better score on the final nine holes.

For more information on the Bemidji State women’s golf program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook (facebook.com/BSUBeavers) or sign up for the TXTUpdates from BSUBeavers.com text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of BSUBeavers.com.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).