Bemidji State caps 2013-14 season at NSIC Spring Championship
Thursday, April 24, 2014
Bemidji State caps 2013-14 season at NSIC Spring Championship

BEMIDJI, Minn. – The Bemidji State University women’s golf team wraps up the 2013-14 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference golf championship with 36 holes at the par-72, 6,217-yard Dacotah Ridge Golf Course in Morton, Minn. April 26-27.

Bemidji State opened the spring portion of the event in ninth place with after a 36-hole total of 729 (+153) Oct. 6-7. The first 36 holes of the unique 72-hole event took place at The Classic at Madden's in Brainerd.

At 153 over par, Bemidji State (364-365) sits just two strokes out of eighth place, while it is 73 shots behind four-time defending NSIC Champion Augustana College (326-333) and Concordia University, St. Paul (332-324), which each completed the first 36 holes of the event at 80 over par (656).

Bemidji State's top individual, Olivia Knutson (So., Hatton, N.D.) turned in scores of 89 and 85 to finish 21st individually in the fall at 30 over par (174).

The Beavers are coming off of a second place finish at the Dragon Spring Invitational April 18. BSU carded a 382 (+94) at the par-72, 5,974-yard Meadows Public Golf Course to complete the 18-hole event 21 shots behind Concordia College, which turned in a 361 (+73) to take the team title. Knutson, Monica Wold (So., Crookston, Minn.) and Rachel Wold (Sr., Crookston, Minn.) were among a group of four players tied for fifth place individually carding matching 23-over-par 92s—10 strokes off medalist pace.

For more information on the Bemidji State women’s golf program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).