BSU women's golf to host BSU Invitational Friday
Wednesday, September 24, 2014
BSU women's golf to host BSU Invitational Friday

BEMIDJI, Minn. — The Bemidji State University women’s golf team is set to host the BSU Invitational on Friday at the Bemidji Town and Country Club. The one-day, 18-hole event will feature fellow competitors from the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference: University of Minnesota Crookston and Minnesota State University, Moorhead.

Tee times for the event begin at 12:00 p.m. at the par-72, 5,833-yard course.

Last year, Bemidji State won the BSU Invitational with a score of 340 (+52). Katie Sheetz of Minnesota Crookston captured the individual title with a score of 11-over-par (83). Two golfers from Bemidji State, Olivia Knutson and Monica Wold tied for second place with scores of 12-over-par (84). The Beavers have won the BSU Invitational the past two years and aim to defend their title.

Last weekend, junior Paige Tompkins (Milner, N.D.) led the Beaver’s golf team to a ninth place finish at the 17th annual Mustang Invitational with a team total of 693 (346-347). Tompkins scored a 22-over-par, 165 (85-81) to finished tied for 27th overall.

Sophomore Mary Elmquist (Elk River, Minn.) has led the Beavers throughout the 2014 fall campaign. After three events and five rounds, Elmquist has a 12-over-par and an 84 average score.

The BSU Invitational will be the final event of the fall season before the Beavers prepare to compete for the NSIC Championship Oct. 4-5 at The Classic at Madden’s in Nisswa, Minn. The tournament will be a 36-hole two-day event at the par-72, 5,438-yard course.

For more information on the Bemidji State athletic programs, tickets or schedules, visit, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).