BSU Women’s Golf finishes sixth at Wildcat Classic

BSU Women’s Golf finishes sixth at Wildcat Classic
Monday, April 12, 2021
BSU Women’s Golf finishes sixth at Wildcat Classic

WAYNE, Neb. – Led by senior Lauren Stockmoe who posted her second top-20 finish of the season, the Bemidji State University women’s golf team finished sixth of eight teams at the Wildcat Classic Monday afternoon in Wayne, Neb.

The Beavers totaled a team score of 695 (339-356) at the two-day, two-round tournament while University of Nebraska-Kearney took the team title with a score of 624 (298-326).

Stockmoe led the Beavers with a score of 164 (79-85) to tie for 14th individually while sophomore Jocelyn Nyblom followed and placed 30th with a score of 176 (86-90). Freshman Mollie Albrecht finished just behind Nyblom with a score of 178 (87-91) to tie for 31st while junior Taiylor Ellingson (90-90=180) finished two strokes behind her. Senior Elise Stockmoe rounded out the Beavers’ top five scores with a score of 187 (87-100) in her first tournament of the season. 

Freshman Maddy Sawyer fired a season-low score of 175 (88-87) competing as an individual and tied for 27th individually. Junior Grace Van Brocklin (93-104=197) and sophomore Morgan Sammon (98-106=204) both competed as individuals as well. 

Nebraska-Kearney’s Faviola Gonzalez took home the individual title after firing a score of 150 (70-80). 

Bemidji State jumps right back into action this weekend April 17-18 by traveling to Sioux Falls, S.D., to compete in the Augustana Invitational held at Elmwood Golf Course before competing at the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Women’s Golf Championship, April 23-25.

For more information on the Bemidji State women’s golf program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeaversWGolf), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooden region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, BSU sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).