Women’s Golf finishes eighth at NSIC Championship

Women’s Golf finishes eighth at NSIC Championship
Sunday, April 25, 2021
Women’s Golf finishes eighth at NSIC Championship

MORTON, Minn. – Led by senior Lauren Stockmoe, the Bemidji State University women’s golf team finished eighth at the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference women’s golf championship following the final round Sunday afternoon.

The Beavers totaled a three-round, team score of 1055 (338-345-372) and finished seven strokes behind seventh place Minot State University (348-342-358=1048).

Stockmoe paced the Beavers and finished a career-best at the tournament by finishing 13th with a score of 246 (80-79-87). She was followed by freshman Mollie Albrecht who totaled 253 (79-85-89) and tied for 24th individually. Senior Elise Stockmoe finished third on the Beavers after posting a score of 278 (87-92-99) and tied for 45th. Sophomore Jocelyn Nyblom was three strokes behind her with a score of 281 (93-89-99) and finished 48th while junior Taiylor Ellingson rounded out the Beavers scoring at 285 (92-96-97) and tied for 51st.

Augustana University won the tournament team title and earns an automatic bid into the NCAA Central Regional with a score of 955 (296-329-330) and five strokes in front of second-place University of Sioux Falls (310-320-330=960).

Upper Iowa University’s Mackayla Olsen won the individual title with a score of 234 (78-79-77) and finished one stroke in front of Sioux Falls’ Lexi Hanson (75-80-80). 

For more information on the Bemidji State women’s golf program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeaversWGolf), like them on Facebook (facebook.com/BSUBeavers) or sign up for the TXTUpdates from BSUBeavers.com text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of BSUBeavers.com.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooden region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, BSU sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).