Hiscock and Brookshaw named to WCHA All-Star Team
Tuesday, September 13, 2005
Sept. 13, 2005
Bemidji, Minn. - The Western Collegiate Hockey Association has named its all-star team which will battle the 2005-06 Women’s National Team on Sept. 30 and Oct. 1. The game on Sept. 30 will be played at the Excel Energy Center in St. Paul, Minn., and the game on Oct. 1 will be held at the Duluth Entertainment and Convention Center. The start time for both games is 7:05 p.m.

Each team from the WCHA will be represented on the All-Star team. Twenty players have been selected to participate in this event. There are four players from Wisconsin and three players from Minnesota and Minnesota-Dultuh that will make up the team along with two players each from Bemidji State, St. Cloud State, Minnesota State, Ohio State, and North Dakota.

The All-Star team will be coached by Mark Johnson, head coach from Wisconsin. Johnson will be assisted by coaches Ruthann Kragh, assistant coach from Minnesota State and Jeff Giesen, assistant at St. Cloud State.

The two players picked to represent BSU are sophomore goalie Emily Brookshaw (Webster, Wis.) and sophomore forward Tara Hiscock (Bemidji, Minn.). In Brookshaw’s freshman campaign with the Beavers she played in 23 games and ended the season with a 6-12-1 record. Brookshaw had a save precentage of .912 while only giving up an average of 2.67 goals per game. Brookshaw was named to the WCHA all rookie team last season.

Hiscock also had a successful freshman season. Hiscock tied for second on the team with 22 points, was fourth on the team in goals with nine, second on the team in assists with 13 and lead the team in power-play goals with six.

“Being chosen for this team shows the respect these players have gained in the WCHA,” said head coach Bruce Olson. Olson also said “it is nice to see young players getting a chance to participate in these kinds of events, it is a great honor.”

Tickets can be purchased through ticket master at www.ticketmaster.com or by calling 651-989-5151 or 218-727-2121. Tickets at the Excel Energy Center are on sale $10 for adults and $5 for youth and tickets at the DECC are available $13 for adults and $11 for youth.

2005 WCHA All-Star Team Roster

Emily Brookshaw G Bemidji State So. Webster, Wis.
Ritta Schaublin G Minnesota Duluth Jr. Basel, Switzerland
Ashely Albrecht D Minnesota Sr. So. St. Paul, Minn.
Chelsey Brodt D Minnesota Sr. Roseville, Minn.
Rachel Drazan D Minnesota Duluth So. Orono, Minn.
Amber Bowman D Ohio State Jr. Innisfil, Ont.
Kelly Stewart D St. Cloud State Sr. Toronto, Ont.
Bobbi Jo Slusar D Wisconsin Jr. Swift Current, Sask.
Tara Hiscock F Bemidji State So. Bemidji, Minn.
Bobbi Ross F Minnesota So. Verwood, Sask.
Jessica Koizumi F Minnesota Duluth So. Simi Valley, Calif.
Kristina Bunker F Minnesota State So. Blaine, Minn.
Amanda Stohr F Minnesota State So. So. St. Paul, Minn.
Cami Wooster F North Dakota So. Salvador, Sask.
Carly Wooster F North Dakota Sr. Salvador, Sask.
Jana Harrigan F Ohio State Sr. Burlington, Ont.
Ashley Stewart F St. Cloud State Sr. Toronto, Ont.
Sara Bauer F Wisconsin Jr. St. Catharines, Ont.
Sharon Cole F Wisconsin Sr. Bloomington, Minn.
Nikki Burish F Wisconsin Sr. Madison, Wis.