Eight honored as WCHA Scholar Athletes
Thursday, February 11, 2010
Eight honored as WCHA Scholar Athletes
MADISON, Wis. — The Western Collegiate Hockey Association announced today the fifth-annual group of WCHA Scholar-Athlete recipients. Bemidji State’s Erin Babineau (So., For, St. Paul, Minn.), Annie Bauerfeld (Jr., For, Woodbury, Minn.), Erin Cody (Jr., For, Roseville, Minn.), Emily Erickson (R-Fr., For, Coleriane, Minn.), Alana McElhinney (So., G, Calgary, Alberta), Montana Vichorek (So., Def., Moose Lake, Minn.), Marlee Wheelhouse (So., Def., Crookston, Minn.), Jackie Robertson (Sr., Def., Inver Grove Heights, Minn.) were among the 77 WCHA student-athletes that were honored for the 2009-10 season.

Repeat honorees, Bauerfeld and Cody, currently lead the team in scoring with 20 and 28 points respectively. Cody was recognized for her efforts in the Dec. 5-6 series against North Dakota being named WCHA Offensive Player of the Week on Dec. 9, 2009. In that series she scored four goals, including a game winner in OT, over the weekend against the Sioux.

The prestigious WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award was developed through association member team faculty representatives and approved by the conference membership beginning with the 2005-06 season. To earn recognition as a WCHA Scholar-Athlete, conference-member student-athletes must have completed at least one year of residency at their present institution prior to the current academic year and must also have a grade-point average of at least 3.50 on a 4.0 scale for the previous two semesters or three quarters, or may qualify if his or her overall GPA is at least 3.50 for all terms at his or her present institution.

The Beavers will host the Sioux on Friday at 7:07 p.m. at the John S. Glas Fieldhouse before heading over to Grand Forks, N.D. on Saturday for the final game of the regular-season series at the Ralph Engelstad Arena at 7:07 p.m.

- bsu -