Brittni Mowat named to the CCM/AHCA All-American First Team
Friday, March 20, 2015
Brittni Mowat named to the CCM/AHCA All-American First Team

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. – Bemidji State University women’s hockey goaltender Brittni Mowat has been named to the 2015 CCM/AHCA All-American First Team.

Mowat becomes the first BSU player to garner a First-Team All-American accolade. The Glenboro, Manitoba native is also the second player in program history to earn an All-American honor, joining former Beaver Zuzana Tomcikova, who was named to the second team following the 2011-12 season.

Mowat was instrumental in the Beavers’ record-breaking 2014-15 season posting a 19-13-1 record with an 1.68 goals against average and .945 save percentage. All three marks (wins, goals against average and save percentage) rank in the top four in the WCHA and top 10 nationally. She was also instrumental in BSU’s penalty-killing unit, which finished second in the WCHA and third nationally with .915 success rate this season.

In just two seasons at BSU, she has set new school records for most wins in a season (19) and most shutouts in a season (7). She also set program records for highest single-season save percentage (.945) and goals against average (1.68) in 2014-15.

Mowat will be joined by 20 other returning players next season as Bemidji State looks to build upon a 21-win campaign and an appearance in the WCHA Final-Faceoff Championship game in 2014-15.

Mowat was one of six WCHA players to earn All-American honors, which is the most of any conference in the nation. The Hockey East had four players and the ECAC had two. Mowat was also one of three sophomores honored and the only one on the first team.

2014-15 CCM Hockey Women’s Division I All-Americans

First Team

Goaltender: Brittni Mowat (Bemidji State)

Defense: Emily Pfalzer (Boston College)

Defense: Rachel Ramsey (Minnesota)

Forward: Hannah Brandt (Minnesota)

Forward: Marie-Philip Poulin (Boston University)

Forward: Alex Carpenter (Boston College)

Second Team

Goaltender: Shelby Amsley-Benzie (North Dakota)

Defense: Sarah Edney (Harvard)

Defense: Lee Stecklein (Minnesota)

Forward: Dani Cameranesi (Minnesota)

Forward: Kendall Coyne (Northeastern)

Forward: Brianne Jenner (Cornell)

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).