Brittni Mowat named to Second Team
Friday, March 27, 2015
Brittni Mowat named to Second Team

BEMIDJI, Minn. – Bemidji State University women’s hockey goaltender Brittni Mowat has been named to Women’s Second-Team Friday.  

In addition the honor, Mowat has been named to the CCM/AHCA All-American First Team and the All-WCHA First Team. Mowat also took home a pair of WCHA Defensive Player of the Week awards (Nov. 4, Nov. 18) this season.

Mowat was instrumental in the Beavers’ record-breaking 2014-15 campaign posting a 19-13-1 record with an 1.68 goals against average and .945 save percentage. All three marks (wins, goals against average and save percentage) rank in the top four in the WCHA and top 10 nationally. She was also instrumental in BSU’s penalty-killing unit, which finished second in the WCHA and third nationally with .915 success rate this season.

In just two seasons at BSU, she has set new school records for most wins in a season (19) and most shutouts in a season (7). She also set program records for highest single-season save percentage (.945) and goals against average (1.68) in 2014-15.

Mowat will be joined by 20 other returning players next season as Bemidji State looks to build upon a 21-win campaign and an appearance in the WCHA Final-Faceoff Championship game in 2014-15.

Mowat was one of nine WCHA players to be honored by, which was tied for the most of any conference in the nation. The Hockey East also had nine players and the ECAC had seven receive recognition.

2014-15 Teams

First Team

Goaltender: Shelby Amsley-Benzie (North Dakota)

Defense: Emily Pfalzer (Boston College)

Defense: Lee Stecklein (Minnesota)

Forward: Hannah Brandt (Minnesota)

Forward: Marie-Philip Poulin (Boston University)

Forward: Alex Carpenter (Boston College)

Second Team

Goaltender: Brittni Mowat (Bemidji State)

Defense: Sarah Edney (Harvard)

Defense: Rachel Ramsey (Minnesota)

Forward: Haley Skarupa (Boston College)

Forward: Kendall Coyne (Northeastern)

Forward: Brianne Jenner (Cornell)

Third Team

Goaltender: Amanda Leveille (Minnesota)

Defense: Lexi Bender (Boston College)

Defense: Kelsey Koelzer (Princeton)

Forward: Dani Cameranesi (Minnesota)

Forward: Jillian Saulnier (Cornell)

Forward: Sarah Lefort (Boston University)

Rookie Team

Goaltender: Katie Burt (Boston College), Shea Tiley (Clarkson)

Defense: Erin O’Connor (Cornell)

Defense: Savanah Harmon (Clarkson)

Forward: Kelly Pannek (Minnesota)

Forward: Denisa Krizova (Northeastern)

Forward: Annie Pankowski (Wisconsin)

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).