Deters collects 33-save shutout as Beavers tie Orange, 0-0

September 29, 20171st2nd3rdOTFinal
Bemidji State00000
Scoring Summary
Shootout Summary
Goaltender SummaryMinGAENSv
SUAbbey Miller65:000030
BSUDeters, Erin65:000033
Statistical ComparisonSUBSU
Shots on Goal3330
Power Plays0-30-7
Deters collects 33-save shutout as Beavers tie Orange, 0-0
Friday, September 29, 2017
Deters collects 33-save shutout as Beavers tie Orange, 0-0

BEMIDJI, Minn. – Bemidji State University senior goaltender Erin Deters stopped all 33 shots by Syracuse University to help the Beavers tie the O, 0-0, in the season-opener at Sanford Center.

The Beavers (0-0-1, 0-0-0 WCHA) officially start the 2017-18 campaign with a tie against the Orange (0-0-1, 0-0-0 CHA) in non-conference action.

Deters kept track of the puck exceptionally well in her senior season debut, stopping 33 shots by the Orange while opposing goaltender Abbey Miller was just as strong in net, turning aside all 30 shots by the Beavers.

The two teams took to the shootout to determine some sort of victory and Syracuse ended the night on a high note defeating BSU 2-1 in a six-round shootout.

The Beavers had the majority of opportunities to score earning six power plays during the game. However, BSU would total just eight shots in total with the extra attacker coming up empty on all six attempts.

Senior defenseman Alexis Joyce led the Beavers with four shots in the game while five other Beavers tallied three shots.

The Beavers will try to crack Syracuse’s defense tomorrow afternoon to decide a series victor when the two teams face-off in the series finale at 3:07 p.m.

For more information on the Bemidji State hockey program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooden region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, BSU sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).