Beavers blanked by No. 5 Bulldogs in series finale

October 20, 20181st2nd3rdFinal
Bemidji State0000
Minnesota Duluth2002
Scoring Summary
103:42UMDNaomi Rogge (Ashton Bell )
118:53UMDNaomi Rogge (Ashton Bell , Maddie Rooney)
Goaltender SummaryMinGAENSv
BSUBench, Lauren59:152029
UMDMaddie Rooney60:000024
Statistical ComparisonBSUUMD
Shots on Goal2431
Power Plays0-10-4
Beavers blanked by No. 5 Bulldogs in series finale
Saturday, October 20, 2018
Beavers blanked by No. 5 Bulldogs in series finale

DULUTH, Minn. – A two-goal first period by No. 5 University of Minnesota Duluth led the Bulldogs (3-3-1, 1-3-1-1 WCHA) to a series sweep over the Bemidji State University women’s hockey team Saturday afternoon in Western Collegiate Hockey Association play. The Beavers (0-6-0, 0-2-0-0 WCHA) saw a 29-save performance by redshirt sophomore Lauren Bench but was bested by Olympic gold medalist Maddie Rooney who posted her first shutout of the season.

Minnesota Duluth’s Naomi Rogge scored both goals for the Bulldogs in the first period and got on the scoreboard at the 3:42 and 18:53 marks of the opening period.

The Beavers were out-shot in the game 31-24 but BSU’s penalty kill was outstanding during the game and killed off all four power plays by the Bulldogs. Bemidji State came up empty on their lone power play attempt of the game.

The Beavers look for their first win of the season and return home next weekend to host Minnesota State University, Mankato at the Sanford Center. Bemidji State and the Mavericks open the two-game series Friday, Oct. 26 with puck drop at 6:07 p.m.

For more information on the Bemidji State hockey program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooden region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, BSU sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).