Beavers tie Mavericks in series finale; Earn point in shootout

October 27, 20181st2nd3rdOTFinal
Minnesota State00000
Bemidji State00000
Scoring Summary
Shootout Summary
Goaltender SummaryMinGAENSv
MINNSTLevy, Abigail65:000025
BSUBench, Lauren65:000033
Statistical ComparisonMINNSTBSU
Shots on Goal3325
Power Plays0-10-5
Beavers tie Mavericks in series finale; Earn point in shootout
Saturday, October 27, 2018
Beavers tie Mavericks in series finale; Earn point in shootout

BEMIDJI, Minn. – The Bemidji State University women’s hockey team earned its first Western Collegiate Hockey Association point of the season after tying Minnesota State University, Mankato, 0-0, but fell in the shootout, 2-1.

The Beavers (0-7-1, 0-3-1-0 WCHA) were led by redshirt sophomore Lauren Bench who turned aside all 33 shots by the Mavericks (4-3-1, 2-3-1-1 WCHA) during the regulation and overtime periods.

Minnesota State’s goaltender Abigail Levy stopped all 25 shots by the Beavers while the Mavericks’ defense totaled for 27 blocks in the game.

The two teams took to the shootout to determine some sort of victory and Minnesota State won the extra point in league standings by defeating BSU 2-1 in a four-round shootout.

The Beavers had the majority of opportunities to score earning five power plays during the game. However, came up empty on all five attempts and totaled nine shots with the extra attacker.

Sophomore Clair DeGeorge had the most scoring chances for the Beavers and led the team with six shots while four others tallied three.

The Beavers still look for their first win of the season and will travel to No. 3 University of Minnesota next weekend for a WCHA series at Ridder Arena, Nov. 2-3.

For more information on the Bemidji State hockey program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooden region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, BSU sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).