Beavers' win streak ends with 2-0 loss in Minnesota Cup championship

January 05, 20201st2nd3rdFinal
Bemidji State0000
Minnesota Duluth0112
Scoring Summary
210:25UMDAshton Bell (Sydney Brodt , Gabbie Hughes)
314:08UMDRyleigh Houston (Taylor Stewart , Anneke Linser)
Goaltender SummaryMinGAENSv
BSUBench, Lauren57:392023
UMDMaddie Rooney60:000038
Statistical ComparisonBSUUMD
Shots on Goal3825
Power Plays0-21-1
Beavers' win streak ends with 2-0 loss in Minnesota Cup championship
Sunday, January 5, 2020
Beavers' win streak ends with 2-0 loss in Minnesota Cup championship

DULUTH, Minn. – The Bemidji State University women’s hockey team win streak ended at nine games Sunday night when No. 10 University of Minnesota Duluth earned a 2-0 victory over the Beavers in the Minnesota Cup championship game. Minnesota Duluth’s Maddie Rooney stopped all 38 shots by the Beavers (12-9-1, 6-6-0 WCHA) to capture the tournament trophy for the Bulldogs (9-8-3, 4-6-2 WCHA).

Bemidji State outshot the Bulldogs, 38-25 in the game. It is the Beavers’ first loss since Nov. 16 at No. 1 University of Minnesota.

Minnesota Duluth struck first in the second period when Ashton Bell scored a back-door tap in while on the power play to give the Bulldogs the 1-0 lead with 9:35 left in the second period.

The Bulldogs increased their lead to 2-0 late in the third period when Ryleigh Houston tipped in a Taylor Stewart shot with just 5:52 remaining.

Minnesota Duluth’s power-play marker proved to be the difference maker in the game as the Bulldogs finished by going 1-for-1 with the extra attacker while Bemidji State came up empty on its two chances. Bemidji State has not scored a power-play goal since Nov. 29 (0-for-14).

Bemidji State senior Abby Halluska was named to the all-tournament team after scoring the lone goal for the Beavers in the tournament and registered nine shots on goal.

The Beavers return home and resume play next weekend when they host No. 1 University of Wisconsin for a two-game series at Sanford Center Jan. 10-11. Puck drop for game one is scheduled for 6:07 p.m., Friday followed by game two at 3:07 p.m., Saturday.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooden region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, BSU sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).