Beavers open WCHA Preseason Coaches’ Poll ranked fifth

Beavers open WCHA Preseason Coaches’ Poll ranked fifth
Monday, November 16, 2020
Beavers open WCHA Preseason Coaches’ Poll ranked fifth

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – The Bemidji State University women’s hockey team earned 14 points in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Preseason Coaches’ Poll to rank fifth among league members. This is the fifth-consecutive season the Beavers were selected to finish fifth among league coaches. 

Defending regular season champions, University of Wisconsin, was picked to defend its title after garnering 34 points and four first place votes. University of Minnesota finished second in the voting with 31 points and earned three first place votes. Ohio State University finished third with 28 points while University of Minnesota Duluth was picked to finish fourth ahead of the Beavers after earning 21 points. Minnesota State University, Mankato and St. Cloud State University round out the poll with a sixth and seventh place finish, respectively.

WCHA Preseason Coaches’ Poll

Rk. Team (First Place Votes) Points
1. Wisconsin (4) 34
2. Minnesota (3) 31
3. Ohio State  28
4. Minnesota Duluth 21
5. Bemidji State 14
6. Minnesota State 13
7. St. Cloud State 6


The league’s Preseason WCHA Player of the Year was voted to be Wisconsin’s Daryl Watts while Minnesota’s  Abbey Murphy was selected as the WCHA Rookie of the Year. 

Along with Watts, Ohio State forward Emma Maltais, Wisconsin forward Sophie Shirley, Minnesota Duluth defenseman Ashton Bell, Minnesota defenseman Emily Brown and Ohio State goaltender Andrea Braendli were named to the Preseaons All-WCHA Team.

Bemidji State senior forward Clair DeGeorge was the lone Beaver who received votes in the poll.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooden region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, BSU sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).