No. 6 Bulldogs earn series split with 1-0 overtime victory

January 23, 20211st2nd3rdOTFinal
Minnesota Duluth00011
Bemidji State00000
Scoring Summary
403:23UMDNina Jobst-Smith (Gabbie Hughes )
Goaltender SummaryMinGAENSv
UMDEmma Soderberg63:230017
BSUDowhy, Kerigan63:231030
Statistical ComparisonUMDBSU
Shots on Goal3117
Power Plays0-40-0
No. 6 Bulldogs earn series split with 1-0 overtime victory
Saturday, January 23, 2021
No. 6 Bulldogs earn series split with 1-0 overtime victory

BEMIDJI, Minn. - No. 6 University of Minnesota Duluth earned its own overtime victory Saturday evening to earn a series split with the Bemidji State University women's hockey team. After earning a 1-0 overtime victory last night, the Beavers (2-8-2, 2-8-2 WCHA) fell to the sixth-ranked Bulldogs (6-4-0, 6-4-0 WCHA) by the same score of 1-0 during the extra period.

Bemidji State senior goaltender Kerigan Dowhy was stellar in net for the second consecutive night and turned aside 30-of-31 saves for the Beavers but was bested in overtime for the game's only goal by UMD's Nina Jobst-Smith 3:23 into the extra frame.

The Beavers were held to 17 shots by the Bulldogs and were outshot 31-17 in the game.

Bemidji State's penalty kill was dominant on special teams and killed all four chances by the Bulldogs including two chances during the third period.

With the overtime win Minnesota Duluth earned all three points in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association standings and now hold fourth while BSU holds seventh with 9.5 points. 

Dowhy finishes the weekend by stopping 76-of-77 shots for a 0.48 goals against average and .987 save percentage.

Bemidji State begins a two-week road trip next weekend by traveling to Minnesota State University, Mankato to face the Mavericks for the final time this regular season. Bemidji State and Minnesota State will play a two-game, league series beginning Friday, Jan. 29 followed by game two Saturday.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooden region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, BSU sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).