Ellefsen and Domiano garner All-Region honors
Tuesday, November 17, 2009

ALAMOSA, Colo. — BSU juniors Ashlee Ellefsen (Hugo, Minn.) and Alysha Domiano (Dayton, Minn.) were named to the 2009 Daktronics All-Central Region Women’s Soccer Second Team for their efforts in the 2009 campaign that saw the Beavers go 11-6-2 (7-5-1 NSIC).

Ellefsen had a standout junior year. She broke the school records for most career points (80), most career goals (32), and game-winning goals (11). She also tied the school record for most assists in a season (7). Ellefsen was named All-NSIC First Team and was awarded NSIC Offensive Player of the Week for the week of Oct. 27 - Nov. 1.

On the season, Ellefsen scored 13 goals and notched seven assists for a total of 33 points. It was her best single-season performance at BSU after scoring 16 points (7G, 2A) her freshman year and 31 points (12G, 7A) in her sophomore season.

Domiano was earlier named All-NSIC Second Team. Domiano was named honorable mention in both her freshman and sophomore years. She was a crucial part of the Beaver backline all year. Her efforts in the defensive third helped the Beavers limit their opponents to just 17 goals, which established school record. The defense helped record seven shutouts including a scoreless streak that spanned from Sept. 20-27.

The All-Region teams are sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition. The team is voted on by the members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) from the Central Region, made up of 25 women’s soccer playing institutions in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference and the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference.

2009 Daktronics All-Central Region Women’s Soccer Team

Central Region Player of the Year: Kayla Mitchell (Colorado Mines)

First Team
F Kayla Mitchell (Colorado Mines)
F Becca Mays (Metro State)
F Lauren Sturdivant (Winona State)
F Laura Leber (Minnesota State)
MF Clare Dahmen (Minnesota-Duluth)
MF Marissa Davis (Regis)
MF Jaime MacArthur (Fort Lewis)
MF Gina Paletta (Minnesota State)
D Joanna Drennen (Mary)
D Kathryn Gosztyla (Metro State)
D Courtney Ryan (Metro State)
D Nichole Kluk (Fort Lewis)
GK Hannah Bengtson (Minnesota-Duluth)

Second Team
F Ashlee Ellefsen (Bemidji State)
F Jordan Miller (Regis)
F Jen Thomas (Metro State)
F Daniela Ramirez (Mesa State)
MF Megan Woodworth (Colorado Mines)
MF Madison McQuilliams (Metro State)
MF Melissa Sellier (Winona State)
MF Katie Johnson (Concordia-St. Paul)
D Jessica Stark (Colorado Mines)
D Lauren Hall (UC-Colorado Springs)
D Megan Rowland (Winona State)
D Alysha Domiano (Bemidji State)
GK Becca Maloney (Metro State)

Note: Players are listed in the order of number of points received