NSIC soccer coaches pick BSU to finish sixth in preseason poll
Wednesday, August 18, 2010
NSIC soccer coaches pick BSU to finish sixth in preseason poll

BURNSVILLE, Minn. – The Bemidji State University soccer team was selected to finish sixth in the 2010 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Coache’s Poll. After finishing in sixth place last year with an overall record of 11-6-2, BSU received 104 points in the poll alongside Augustana College which also received 104 points in the poll.

Redshirt-senior Jamie Ford (For., Edina, Minn.) and senior Samantha Ross (GK, Stillwater, Minn.) were selected as players to watch for Bemidji State. Ford only saw action in one game last season and was forced to take a medical redshirt after reaggravating a leg injury. However, in the one game played Ford scored two goals and notched one assist. In the 2008 campaign Ford was named third team all-conference after netting 11 goals. Ross capped off a great junior year posting a 0.89 goals against average in 2009.

Winona State University was picked finish on top of the NSIC. The Warrior’s Lauren Sturdivant was also tabbed as the NSIC Preseason Offensive Player of the Year. Winona State is coming off their sixth straight NSIC Regular Season Championship.

The Warriors received nine first place votes and tallied 162 points, ranking them ten points ahead of Minnesota State (152) who received two first place votes of their own. The Mavericks were picked as preseason favorites the last two years and are coming off a season where they qualified for the NCAA Central Region Tournament.

Minnesota Duluth was ranked third by the coaches as they picked up three first place picks of their own to total 150 points. The Bulldogs, also NCAA Central Region qualifiers a year ago, will boast NSIC Preseason Defensive Player of the Year in Maria Lieder. St. Cloud State came in fourth in the poll with 134 points while U-Mary rounded out the top five with 111 points.

2010 Preseason NSIC Soccer Coaches Poll

School (First Place Votes) Points
 1  Winona State (9)  162
 2  Minnesota State (2)  152
 3  Minnesota Duluth (3)  150
 4  St. Cloud State  134
 5  University of Mary  111
 6  Augustana  104
   Bemidji State  104
 8  Northern State  88
 9  Upper Iowa  75
 10  Concordia-St. Paul  67
 11  MSU Moorhead  45
 12  Wayne State  33
 13  Southwest Minnesota State  25
 14  Minnesota, Crookston  24