Soccer lands nine on Fall Academic All-NSIC Team
Thursday, December 3, 2009

ST. PAUL, Minn. - Bemidji State University had 26 student-athletes selected to the 2009 Fall Academic All-Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Team, announced by the league office today.

BSU's 26 representatives, on the 404-member All-Academic team, ranked eighth in the 14-team NSIC, trailing Winona State University(42), Northern State University (36), Augustana College (33), Minnesota State University, Mankato (32), St. Cloud State University (32) and Concordia University-St. Paul (30).

The Bemidji State's fall contingent was paced by its football and soccer teams which each had nine players recognized for academic accomplishment. BSU also had five members its volleyball team and three member's from its women's cross country program selected to the 2009 all-academic squad.

Sports considered for the Fall All-NSIC Academic team are: men's and women's cross country, football, women's soccer, and women's volleyball.

Bemidji State had 19 honorees on the 2008 Fall Academic All-NSIC Team, had 20 earn a spot on the team in 2007 and had 18 student-athletes honored in 2006.

To be eligible for the Academic All-NSIC Team, student-athletes must maintain a grade-point average of 3.20 or better, be a member of a varsity traveling team and have reached sophomore academic standing at his or her institution with one full year completed at that campus.

2009 Fall Academic All-NSIC Team
42 Winona State
36 Northern State
33 Augustana
32 Minnesota State
32 St. Cloud State
31 MSU-Moorhead
30 Concordia-St. Paul
24 Southwest Minnesota State
22 Wayne State (Neb.)
16 Upper Iowa
8 Minnesota, Crookston

2009 Fall Academic All-NSIC

Women's Cross Country
Kristi Buerkle Jr. Stacy, Minn.
Ali Hougen So. Bemidji, Minn.
Pearl Walker So. Bemidji, Minn.
Women's Soccer
Alysha Domiano Jr. Dayton, Minn.
Brianna Duff So. Ramsey, Minn.
Bethany Fluto So. Bemidji, Minn.
Jamie Ford Sr. Edina, Minn.
Rachel Gustafson So. Ham Lake, Minn.
Maddie Pletta Sr. Rochester, Minn.
Bri Scanlan So. East Grand Forks, Minn.
Analey Skog So. St. Francis, Minn.
Jennifer Stromberg Jr. Elk River, Minn.
Jordan Anderson So. Newfolden, Minn.
Joshua Beste So. East Grand Forks, Minn.
George Percak-Dennett So. Wasilla, Alaska
Brody Scheff So. Waconia, Minn.
Jacob Schmidt So. Frederic, Wis.
Dusty Sluzewicz So. Homer Glen, Ill.
Nathan Solors So. Elk River, Minn.
Jesse Sundby So. Argyle, Minn.
Bryan Wick Sr. Duluth, Minn.
Courtney Bitter So. Bemidji, Minn.
Brie Groskreutz Jr. Reedsburg, Wis.
Jessi-Beth McCannell So. Brandon, Manitoba
Melissa McNeely So. Burnsville, Minn.
Lindsey Weyer Jr. Loyal, Wis.