Norton scores twice in 3-0 victory over Upper Iowa

September 16, 20171st2ndFinal
Upper Iowa000
Bemidji State213
BSU20:15Norton, Rachael
BSU23:22Famestad, Miranda (Thelen, Raquel )
BSU86:20Norton, Rachael (Thelen, Raquel )
BSUArneson, Catherine90:0002
Stats at a GlanceUIUBSU
Shots (on Goal)6 (2) 24 (16)
Corner Kicks213
Norton scores twice in 3-0 victory over Upper Iowa
Saturday, September 16, 2017
Norton scores twice in 3-0 victory over Upper Iowa

BEMIDJI, Minn. (Chet Anderson Stadium) -- The Bemidji State University Soccer team flexed its offensive muscle Saturday, earning its fourth victory of the season, 3-0 over Upper Iowa University.

The Beavers outshot the Peacocks 24-6 in the game with a 13-2 edge in shots on goal.

Rachael Norton led the way for Bemidji State pocketing two goals, while Raquel Thelen recorded a pair of assists.

BSU got on the board in the 21st minute. Sophomore Emily Kos found Norton in the middle of field at the top of the box. Norton flipped the ball around a UIU defender and tucked her third goal of the season inside the right post.

The Beavers would double their lead in the 24th minute on a Thelen corner kick. Miranda Famestad connected on a header for the first goal of her senior season.

Leading 2-0 through 86 minutes, Norton put the game out of reach with her team-leading fourth goal of 2017. Thelen collected the assist on the play.

Goalkeeper Catherine Arneson turned aside both shots she faced to post her second shutout of the season and extend the Beavers’ shutout streak to 360 minutes without a goal. Arneson improved to 2-0-0.

The Beavers take their 4-0-0 overall record and 2-0-0 mark in NSIC play into a match up with Winona State University tomorrow. The opening kick is set for 1 p.m. at Chet Anderson Stadium.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).