Norton, Mattson lead Bemidji State soccer to 12th win of 2017

October 21, 20171st2ndFinal
Bemidji State202
Sioux Falls000
BSU0:42Norton, Rachael (Smith, Allyson )
BSU3:52Mattson, Alanna (Nelson, Dani , Norton, Rachael)
BSUArneson, Catherine90:0002
USFPerkins, Morgan90:0024
Stats at a GlanceBSUUSF
Shots (on Goal)13 (6) 6 (2)
Corner Kicks32
Norton, Mattson lead Bemidji State soccer to 12th win of 2017
Saturday, October 21, 2017
Norton, Mattson lead Bemidji State soccer to 12th win of 2017

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. (USF Soccer Field) – The No. 21 Bemidji State University soccer team extended its unbeaten streak to 14 matches, Saturday, with a 2-0 victory at the University of Sioux Falls.

The Beavers, now 12-0-2 overall and 10-0-2 in Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference play, got a pair of goals early and the team’s defense, led by goalkeeper Catherine Arneson, shut it’s opponent out for the 11th time this season.

The Beavers got on the board just 42 seconds into the match when the league’s leading scorer Rachael Norton took a pass from freshman Allyson Smith and scored her 11th goal of the season. It also stood as Smith’s team-best seventh assist of 2017.

Just over three minutes later freshman, Alanna Mattson scored the Beavers’ second goal when she finished a through ball from Dani Nelson from 12 yards out. Norton was also credited with an assist on the scoring play in the fourth minute.

The rest was up to Arneson and the BSU defense. In all the Beavers allowed only six Cougar shots in the game and surrendered only two shots on goal. Arneson turned aside both shots she faced for her sixth shutout of the season. She improves to 6-0-1 in eight appearances and seven starts this season.

The Beavers remain on the road and will travel to Marshall, Minn. for a 1 p.m. NSIC match at Southwest Minnesota State University tomorrow.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).