Seven Bemidji State Student-Athletes earn NSIC’s Myles Brand Award

Seven Bemidji State Student-Athletes earn NSIC’s Myles Brand Award
Wednesday, January 27, 2021
Seven Bemidji State Student-Athletes earn NSIC’s Myles Brand Award

BURNSVILLE, Minn. -- Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Commissioner Erin Lind has announced that seven Bemidji State University student-athletes have been selected as recipients of the 12th annual NSIC Myles Brand All-Academic with Distinction Award.

The award, named in honor of the late NCAA President Dr. Myles Brand, is bestowed to senior NSIC student-athletes who have a cumulative grade point average of 3.75 or higher, are exhausting their eligibility and are on track to graduate.

“I am filled with pride on how our student-athletes in the NSIC continue to excel in the classroom, in the community and on the playing field. We continue to increase the number of student-athletes that have earned the Myles Brand All-Academic with Distinction Award, which is a testament to the dedication of the student-athletes, coaches and administrators in our league.  These are characteristics in which Dr. Myles Brand emphasized. I am extremely proud of all these student-athletes for their devotion to their universities, the NSIC and to their personal academic and athletic goals. I have no doubt these student-athletes will continue to achieve success in life well beyond the classroom and the competition venues,” said Lind.

A record number 227 student-athletes from the NSIC's 16 institutions will receive the award this year.

Bemidji State NSIC Myles Brand Award Recipients





Taylor Bray

Women’s Basketball

Anoka, Minn.

Exercise Science

Griffin Chase

Men’s Basketball

Nevis, Minn.

Sport Management

Samantha Dullum


Harwood, N.D.

Exercise Science

Taylor Nier


Hatley, Wis.

Exercise Science

Hannah Peterson


Menomonie, Wis.

Exercise Science

Teagan Pompa

Women’s Basketball

Elgin, Ill.

Mass Communication

Carolyn Smith


Grand Forks, N.D.


The NSIC is a 16-team, 18-sport, NCAA Division II conference with member institutions located in Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).