Beavers fall to MSU Moorhead 9-0
Friday, March 4, 2011
Beavers fall to MSU Moorhead 9-0

BEMIDJI, Minn. - The Bemidji State University women's tennis team fell 9-0 to Minnesota State University Moorhead on Friday night at Gillett Recreation/Fitness Center in Bemidji, Minn. The Beavers fall to 1-5 on the year with the loss. The Dragons improve to 3-6 with Friday's victory.

MSU Moorhead took the early 3-0 lead by sweeping the doubles matches against the Beavers. At the No. 1 slot, Kayla Huether and Alyse Grelson upended Kara Johnson (Sr., Anoka, Minn.) and Kelli Christiansen (Jr., Bemidji, Minn.), 8-2. Johnson and Christiansen fall to 0-6 on the season. At No. 2 doubles, Kathryn Neubauer and Brenna Johnson defeated Miranda Milless (Jr., Motley, Minn.) and Meg Hafdahl (So., Virginia, Minn.), 8-2. Hafdahl and Milless are 2-3 in doubles on the year. Finally, at the No. 3 position, Katherine Wolak (Jr., Geneseo, Ill.) and Britney Greenwaldt (Jr., Morris, Minn.) fell at the hands of Jenna Miller and Susan Gilkerson, 8-5. Wolak and Greenwaldt are 3-2 on the year in doubles.

In singles, Johnson fell at the No. 1 slot to Huether, 6-1, 6-0. The senior has struggled on the year with an 0-6 mark at the top position. 

At the No. 2 slot, Greenwaldt won the first set, 6-1, but fell 6-1, 10-5 in the final two sets to Neubauer to fall to 1-5 on the year.

At the No. 3 position, Christiansen fell 6-0, 6-1 to Grelson. Christiansen is 2-4 in singles on the year.

Milless lost 6-1, 6-0 to Miller at the No. 4 slot. The BSU netter has an 0-6 singles record this year.

Hafdahl won the first set 6-4 at No. 5 singles, but fell 6-2, 10-7 in the next two sets to Johnson. Hafdahl's mark drops to 3-3 on the year.

At No. 6 singles, Wolak suffered only her second loss of the season falling in three sets, 6-2, 0-6, 4-10 to Jennesa Winey. Wolak is 4-2 on the year.

The Beavers will travel to Sioux Falls, S.D. tomorrow for a match against conference foe Augustana College at 6:30 p.m. BSU will wrap up the weekend on Sunday against future NSIC foe University of Sioux Falls at 8 a.m.