U-Mary spoils Bemidji State's 2014 home finale
Saturday, April 5, 2014
U-Mary spoils Bemidji State's 2014 home finale

BEMIDJI, Minn. (Gillett Recreation-Fitness Center) -- The Bemidji State University tennis team was defeated by the University of Mary in its 2014 home finale, Saturday at Gillett Recreation-Fitness Center. The Marauders swept the doubles and singles matches to hand the Beavers a 9-0 loss.

U-Mary made quick work of double play. After BSU's No. 1 team of Shaylin Prout (So., Thunder Bay, Ontario) and Mikela Kowatsch (So., Wash.) fell, 8-1, and Caley Westin (Jr., Virginia, Minn.) and Anna Markgraf (Fr., Champlin, Minn.) dropped the No. 2 doubles match, 8-4, Justine Scheller (Fr., Mankato, Minn.) and Nicci Hedtke (So., Nisswa, Minn.) gave the Beavers' their best chance for a point in doubles play. The BSU duo pushed the Marauder pair to a final score of 8-6 before falling.

Trailing 3-0 after doubles play, the Beavers needed wins in four of six singles matches to take the NSIC match up--a feat BSU would fall short of.

U-Mary continued to roll in singles action earning straight-set wins in the top five match ups. Anna Buck battled back after a 6-1 loss in the first set, to take the second, 6-1 and force a tie breaker at No. 6 singles. The sophomore from Fergus Falls, Minn. was ultimately defeated 10-6 and the Marauders took the match, 9-0.

The Beavers, now 6-6 overall and 3-5 in NSIC action, travel to Sartell, Minn. tomorrow for a league match up with Minnesota State University, Mankato. The match is set for an 11 a.m. start at Revolution Tennis Center.

For more information on the Bemidji State women’s tennis program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook (facebook.com/BSUBeavers) or sign up for the TXTUpdates from BSUBeavers.com text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of BSUBeavers.com.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).