Beavers open season with 7-0 sweep of UMC

Beavers open season with 7-0 sweep of UMC
Wednesday, February 3, 2021
Beavers open season with 7-0 sweep of UMC

BEMIDJI, Minn. (Gillett Wellness Center) -- The Bemidji State University tennis team opened its 2021 season with a 7-0 sweep over the University of Minnesota Crookston Wednesday at the Gillett Wellness Center. The match also served as the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference opener for each team.

On an evening when five newcomers were penciled into the lineup, including four freshman, the new-look Beavers passed with flying colors sweeping doubles play for the team point and earning wins at all six singles positions.

The pair of Shaelyn Johnson and Claudie Billand made quick work of the Golden Eagles' No. 1 doubles team (6-0) to get the Beavers on the right track. The team's lone senior Hannah Peterson teamed up with freshman Isabela Nelson for a 6-0 win in the No. 2 slot before Maggie Richardson and Bemidji, Minn. native Taylor Offerdahl posted a 6-0 victory at No. 3 doubles to complete the doubles sweep.

Leading the match 1-0, BSU's 2021 NSIC Player to Watch Sophie Groen made her BSU debut in the No. 1 singles position where she earned a straight-sets victory over UMC's Tasha Ackermann, 6-0; 6-0. Peterson followed suit with a 6-0; 6-0 victory in the No. 4 singles slot before Johnson earned a 6-0; 6-0 win in her BSU singles debut in the No. 2 match to put the Beavers up 4-0 and tip the match in their favor. Billand, Richardson and Nelson all added 6-0; 6-0 wins in the No. 3, No. 5 and No. 6 positions, respectively.

BSU will take its 1-0 record on the road Feb. 13-14 for a pair of neutral-site, NSIC matches. BSU will face Minnesota State University Moorhead at 2 p.m. Saturday and the University of Mary at 9 a.m. Sunday in Virginia, Minn.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).