Bemidji State tennis earns NSIC Tournament berth

Bemidji State tennis earns NSIC Tournament berth
Sunday, April 18, 2021
Bemidji State tennis earns NSIC Tournament berth

BURNSVILLE, Minn. -- The Bemidji State University tennis team has earned the No. 8 seed and will complete in the 2021 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference tennis tournament April 23-24.

The Bevers will open the eight-team, single-elimination tournament versus top-seeded and nine-time defending NSIC Tournament Champion Augutana University. The Beavers and Vikings will hit the courts at 2 p.m. Friday at Match Pointe in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. 

Making thier fifth straight NSIC Tournament, the Beavers finished the 2021 regular season with a 4-7 record. The team is led by a pair of freshman, Sophie Groen and Shaelyn Johnson. Johnson leads the team with seven (7-4) singles wins as the Beavers' No. 2 singles player, while Groen was 6-4 in BSU's No. 1 singles slot. The pair also combined lead the Beavers and finish among the league's top doubles teams with an 8-2 record.

BSU seeks its first NSIC Tournament win since a 5-3 victory over University of Minnesota Duluth in the 2018 event. 

Augustana has won 129 straight NSIC matches, with its last loss coming April 19, 2009 to Minnesota State University Mankato.  Since joining the NSIC in 2008-09, the Viking are 136-3 in NSIC matches, have won 11 straight NSIC regular season titles and the last nine NSIC Tournaments.

The Vikings have won their last 25 NSIC Tournament matches.

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).