Groen and Johnson earn All-NSIC tennis honors

Groen and Johnson earn All-NSIC tennis honors
Tuesday, May 11, 2021
Groen and Johnson earn All-NSIC tennis honors

BURNSVILLE, Minn.  -- Bemidji State University tennis freshmen Sophie Groen and Shaelyn Johnson have been selected to the All-Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference team as both singles players and a doubles team. Groen was named Second Team All-NSIC for her singles play, while Johnson earned a spot on the Honorable Mention Team. As the Beavers’ top doubles pair, Groen and Johnson earned a First Team honor.

Groen, a native of Uigeest, Netherlands posted an 6-5 mark as the Beavers’ No. 1 singles player in 2021. Among the league’s No. 1 singles players, Lindgren was seventh with six wins and .545 winning percentage. Her six wins also placed her second among her teammates on the singles courts.

The NSIC awards are the first of her collegiate career.

The all-conference awards are also the first of Johnson’s career. A standout at Red River High School in Grand Forks, N.D., Johnson transitioned to the college game by earning a spot as the Beavers’ No. 2 singles player.  She assembled a 7-5 record to lead all BSU players with seven wins, while she tied for third among the league’s No. 2 singles players. Her .583 winning percentage placed her fifth among the NSIC’s No. 2 singles players.

Groen and Johnson combined to form the Beaver’s top doubles tandem for the bulk of 2021. The pair teamed up to post a 8-3 mark, which placed them eighth among all NSIC doubles teams and second among the league’s No. 1 doubles duos. In their eight wins, Groen and Johnson dominated play winning 49 games to just 19 losses.

BSU’s conference honors this spring mark the sixth consecutive season at least one Beaver has been selected for a All-NSIC award. While no BSU student-athletes were named to the All-NSIC squad a year ago, the league didn’t award all-conference honors due to the COVID-19-shortened season.

In his second campaign at the helm of the BSU tennis program, Groen’s and Johnson’s awards mark the first for Head Coach Kyle Fodness.

In the same announcement, the NSIC named Augustana University's Valeriya Monko doubled as the NSIC’s Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year, while Julia Geske of Minnesota State University Moorhead was awarded the 2021 Senior of the Year honor.

Augustana’s Marc Kurtz was named NSIC Coach of the Year. He led the Vikings to an 18-2 record, with an 11-0 mark in NSIC play en route to the team’s 10th consecutive NSIC Tournament crown and a trip to the NCAA Tournament.

The Beavers finished the season 4-8 after making their fifth straight appearance in the NSIC Tournament.  

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).