Bryan, Muzquiz NSIC Honor Student-Athlete Winners; Recognized For Athletic, Academic & Community Excellence
Thursday, May 22, 2003
Bemidji, Minn. - Bemidji State University seniors Royce Bryan (Haviland, Kan.) and Josaleen Muzquiz (Detroit Lakes, Minn.) have been recognized on the 2002-03 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Student-Athlete Honor list.

Each league school was represented as the student-athletes must meet the following criteria: a grade point average of 3.2 or better (on 4.0 scale), evidence of academic excellence beyond the minimum GPA (scholarship prizes and other academic recognition), evidence of participation in the life of the institution, and evidence of participation in at least two-thirds of varsity events of the individual’s primary sport. All 20 student-athletes were nominated for the NSIC’s two most prestigious individual awards: the Dr. William Britton Award for Academic Excellence and the Willis R. Kelly Scholar Athlete Award for Academic Excellence.

Bryan, a senior guard on the men’s basketball team, is in his second year with the BSU program after transferring from South Plains (Texas) Community College. The 2002-03 team captain holds the school single-game and single-season records for assists and finished his career tied for second on the program’s all-time assist leaderboards. Bryan had a stretch this past season of 13 consecutive games with a three-point field goal, and finished third in the NSIC in steals per game, fifth in assists per game and 12th in three-point field goals per game. He earned First-Team All-NSIC honors for his efforts.

Bryan, who has earned just one “B” in his academic career, was named First-Team Academic All-America by Verizon and the College Sports Information Directors of America. He is thought to be the first First-Team Academic All-America honoree in BSU history. Bryan was honored as the 2002-03 Bemidji State Male Athlete of the Year earlier this month.

Muzquiz, a member of the dean’s list every semester and 3.0 athletic club, received several BSU awards including the Merit Scholarship and the Student Organization Award. A pre-med/biology major, Muzquiz is a track & field and cross country athlete and holds the school record for the 3,000m steeplechase. Muzquiz has captained both programs and is an all-conference performer for track. Other activities she is active in Spanish Club, Alpha Phi Sigma, Student Athletic Advisory Committee, Soup Kitchen Volunteer and Intervarsity Christian Fellowship. In the fall, Muzquiz plans to attend medical school at Minnesota-Duluth.

Mike May in 2001 was the last BSU male athlete to receive the Britton award while Abby Stritesky (2000) was the last BSU female to win the Kelly award.

Dr. William Britton Award for Academic Excellence
-Male Scholar Athlete of the Year

**Tucker Willard, Sr., Northern State

Willis R. Kelly Award for Academic Excellence
-Female Scholar Athlete of the Year

**Karen Darveaux, Sr., Winona State

Men’s Honor Student-Athlete Award Winners

**Steve Battaglia, Sr., Minnesota-Duluth
**Royce Bryan, Sr., Bemidji State
**Brian Disch, Jr., Wayne State (Neb.)
**Jeff Dobbertin, Sr., Winona State
**Christopher Nulle, Sr., MSU Moorhead
**Michael Olsonawski, Sr., Minnesota-Crookston
**Mark Rentschler, Sr, Southwest State
**Eric Steinhoff, Sr., Minnesota-Morris
**Reed Tietz, Sr., Concordia-St. Paul
**Tucker Willard, Sr., Northern State

Women’s Honor Student-Athlete Award Winners

**Cathleen Behr, Jr., Minnesota-Crookston
**Janet Brownawell, Sr., Concordia-St. Paul
**Karen Darveaux, Sr., Winona State
**Kelly Gorres, Sr., Minnesota-Morris
**Amy Gurney, Sr., Northern State
**Tessa Heiss-Krueger, Sr., Southwest State
**Kristin Kirsch, Sr., MSU Moorhead
**Rebekah Kukowski, Sr., Minnesota-Duluth
**Josaleen Muzquiz, Sr., Bemidji State
**Rayne Nelsen, Sr., Wayne State (Neb.)