Stimson Wins Heptathlon Title at the Conference Meet; Wins by 11 Points Over NSU’s April Hericks
Monday, April 28, 2003
Aberdeen, S.D. - Bemidji State junior Caesare Stimson came from behind to win the heptathlon title at the 2003 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Multi-event meet, hosted by Northern State, today and yesterday. Stimson, who is provisionally qualified and ranked sixth in NCAA Division II in the high jump, won by 11 points over Northern State’s April Hericks - Hericks won the event in 2001. Three out of the seven events saw Stimson take first: long jump, javelin throw and 200m dash.

Stimson found herself down by 37 points going into the final event of competition and outran Hericks by 3.74 seconds in the 800 meter run. Both athletes provisionally qualified themselves for NCAA competition on May 22-24.

On the men’s side, sophomores Travis Schwarz and Ben Mettling came in eighth and ninth in the decathlon. Schwarz, who totaled 4,943 points, had his best performance in the 1,500m run as he was second-best with a time of 5:02.64. The same held true for Mettling as he finished second in the discus throw with a toss of 126’1”. Northern State’s Eric Longhenry won his third decathlon title in his collegiate career scoring 6,797 points and setting a new NSIC meet record.

All results can be seen at

Bemidji State has two events this weekend with the Sioux Open on Friday and the Ron Masanz Open on Saturday.

1st Eric Longhenry, NSU 6,797 points
2nd Keith Knoke, MSUM 6,340 points
3rd Reed Tietz, CSP 5,888 points
4th Ryan Rogenes, NSU 5,298 points
5th Justin Richards, UMD 5,147 points
6th John Ellich, UMD 5,072 points
7th Jesse Heinz, NSU 5,015 points
8th Travis Schwarz, BSU 4,943 points
9th Ben Mettling, BSU 4,852 points


1st Caesare Stimson, BSU 4,533 points (provisionally qualified)
2nd April Hericks, NSU 4,522 points (provisionally qualified)
3rd Heather Hamilton, UMD 4,420 points
4th Katie Anderson, NSU 4,235 points
5th Keri Kreuzer, WSU 4,024 points
6th Erika OLson, UMD 3,889 points
7th Angie Albers, WSC 3,811 points
8th Brenna Pribil WSC 3,804 points
9th Mandy Waters, UMD 2,685 points