All-NSIC honors awarded to four Bemidji State athletes
Monday, May 17, 2004
MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. - The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference announced last week that four Bemidji State athletes were named to its all-conference team. Junior Mark Nordell (Apple Valley, Minn.), sophomore Christa Pribula (East Grand Forks, Minn.), junior Steve Schreiber (Forest Lake, Minn.) and senior Caesare Stimson (Chisago Lakes, Minn.) were all awarded all-NSIC honors.

Nordell leaped 45-1 3/4 in the triple jump at the NSIC Outdoor Track & Field Championships in Duluth, Minn., earning him second place in the event. His jump was less than one inch short of the eventual winner, Wayne State’s David Dooley.

Pribula finished in second place in the 3000-meter steeplechase, and for the third time this season, she broke Bemidji State’s record in the event. She set the new school standard at 11:51.99, and also finished in fifth place in the 1500-meter run.

For the second season in a row, Schreiber won the NSIC high jump crown, clearing the bar at 6-7. Including the indoor season, Schreiber has now won the last four conference high jump events.

Stimson capped a stellar outdoor career by claiming an unprecedented third consecutive heptathlon title. She also scored championship points in the javelin, high jump, 100-meter dash, 100-meter hurdles, and 200-meter dash.

All-NSIC honorable mentions were issued to sophomore Adam Wilson (Forest Lake, Minn.) in the shot put and the men’s 4x800-meter, women’s 4x400-meter, and women’s 4x400-meter relay teams.

The men’s squad finished in fifth place at the conference championships, while the women’s team placed sixth.

Including Pribula’s new mark in the steeplechase, four school records were set during the 2004 season. Wilson’s 51-11 1/4 toss in the shot put at the Ron Masanz Invitational edged Joe Ferraro’s four-year-old standard. Sara Olson’s 131-5 hurl in the hammer throw at the Al Cassell Relays improved her own record by over 14 feet. The women’s 4x400-meter relay team, consisting of freshman Nicole Friend (International Falls, Minn.), junior Carla Perry (Lino Lakes, Minn.), and freshmen Lindsey Gregg (Bemidji, Minn.) and Shelby McCrady (Montgomery, Minn.), posted a time of 4:00.94, breaking a record that had stood for 19 years.