Schreiber defends high jump title at NSIC championships
Saturday, May 8, 2004
DULUTH, Minn. - Junior Steve Schreiber (Forest Lake, Minn.) successfully defended his high jump crown Saturday afternoon at the 2004 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Outdoor Track & Field Championships. Schreiber cleared 6-7, besting his nearest rival by two inches and joining senior Caesare Stimson (Chisago Lakes, Minn.) as the only two Bemidji State athletes to win individual events at the championship meet. Including the indoor season, Schreiber has now won four consecutive NSIC high jump titles.

Led by Schreiber and the 10 points scored by sophomore Adam Wilson (Forest Lake, Minn.) in two events, the men’s team finished in fifth place with 107 overall points. Wilson scored six points with a 49-11 toss in the shot put and added four more with a 139-11 discus throw.

The 70 points posted by the women’s squad tied it with Concordia-St. Paul for sixth place. Stimson, in addition to the conference heptathlon title she won two weeks ago, added 15 points this weekend to wind up with 25 points scored for her team. She scored in the javelin throw (5), high jump (5), 100-meter dash (2), 100-meter hurdles (2), and the 200-meter dash (1).

As they did on Friday, Bemidji State’s relay teams excelled on Saturday. The women’s 4x400-meter relay team broke a school record in the process of posting a second-place finish in the event. The team, comprised of junior Carla Perry (Lino Lakes, Minn.) and freshmen Nicole Friend (International Falls, Minn.), Lindsey Gregg (Bemidji, Minn.) and Shelby McCrady (Montgomery, Minn.), set the new mark at 3:55.42. The men’s 4x100-meter and 4x400-meter teams both finished in third place.

Sophomore Tristan White (Portland, Ore.) finished in fourth place in the 100-meter dash and in fifth place in the 200-meter dash to post the men’s team’s third-highest individual point total of the day. Junior Mark Nordell (Apple Valley, Minn.) scored eight points in the long jump, leaping 45-1 3/4, just under an inch short of Wayne State’s David Dooley, the eventual winner.

Sophomore Christa Pribula (East Grand Forks, Minn.) added four points in the 1500-meter run today to the eight that she earned in the 3000-meter steeplechase, giving her 12 for the championship.

Bemidji State’s Individual Point Scorers - Men
Steve Schreiber 10 High jump
Adam Wilson 10 Shot put, discus
Tristan White 9 100-meter dash, 200-meter dash
Mark Nordell 8 Triple jump
Mitch Cooper 7 Long jump, 400-meter dash
Matt Bischof 6 3000-meter steeplechase, 1500-meter run
Tyson Kuznia 5 400-meter hurdles
Phil McCollam 4 Hammer
Corey White 4 800-meter run
Justin Cox 3 Shot put
Tommy Crummy 3 Pole vault
Michael Hougen 3 400-meter hurdles, 110-meter hurdles
Jason Jacoby 3 10,000-meter run
Patrick Lais 3 800-meter run
Travis Schwarz 21ž2 High jump, decathlon
Justin Martin 2 200-meter dash
James Winsor 2 200-meter dash, 400-meter dash
Jon Clemons 11ž2 High jump
Scott Anderson 1 3000-meter steeplechase

Bemidji State’s Individual Point Scorers - Women
Caesare Stimson 25 Heptathlon, javelin, high jump, 100-meter
dash, 100-meter hurdles, 200-meter dash
Christa Pribula 12 3000-meter steeplechase, 1500-meter run
Shelby McCrady 6 800-meter run, triple jump
Nicole Friend 4 400-meter dash
Erin Suhonen 2 Discus
Lindsay Bergeson 1 Shot put
Lindsey Gregg 1 400-meter hurdles

Bemidji State’s Relay Points Scored - Men
4x800-meter 8 8:22.35
4x100-meter 6 42.85 s
4x400-meter 6 3:19.90

Bemidji State’s Relay Points Scored - Women
4x400-meter 8 3:55.42
4x800-meter 8 10:06.96
4x100-meter 3 50.16 s