BSU Men Capture First NSIC Outdoor Team Title in Program History
Saturday, May 7, 2005
MOORHEAD, Minn. - [results] - Just four points out of first after day one, the Bemidji State University men's outdoor track and field team used seven individual championships on Day 2 to vault past Northern State University, into first place and walked away with a 25-point victory and the first NSIC team championship in the history of the program. In all the Beaver men grabbed nine individual titles while the women claimed five as it finished in fifth place.

Sprints and field events proved to be the BSU men's strengths on Day 2.

BSU's throwers kick-started the Beaver rally by sweeping the top three spots in the shot put stealing 24 points in the first event of the day. Justin Cox (Menahga, Minn.) claimed top prize with a distance of 15.43 meters followed by Adam Wilson (Forest Lake, Minn.)(15.14 m) and RJ Gross (Jamestown, N.D.)(15.10 m).

Proving to be a valuable addition to the team for the outdoor season, basketball convert Rodney Williams (Ingelwood, Calif.) added all-conference honors and a triple jump crown to his accomplishments leaping to a distance of 45-08.50. He also competed on BSU's NSIC champion 4x100 meter relay team with Ben Hopkins (Baudette, Minn.) , Tristan White (Portland, Ore.) and Torry Joubert (Port Arthor, Texas) who posted thier best time of the season loging a 42.43 Saturday.

Speedster Jonathan Hawks (Gainsville, Ga.) didn't disappoint. He doubled winning the 100-meter dash in a time of 11.11 and set a new BSU record in a time of 21.60 in the 200 for his second championship of the day while Ozzey Williams (Toledo, Ohio) captured his first NSIC championship logging a time of 16.02 in the 110-meter hurdles.

Two-time defending champion high-jumper Steve Schreiber (Forest Lake, Minn.) out jumped the competition with a height of 6-06.75 to gain his third consecutive championship before the day was over.

On the women's side of things, Christa Pribula (East Grand Forks, Minn.) captured her second title of the championship adding a 1,500-meter title(5:02.83) to a BSU record 3,000-meter steeplechase crown (11:48.37) while also competing on the Bemidji State record-setting 4x800-meter relay team with Nicole Friend (International Falls, Minn.), Jamie LeDuc (International Falls, Minn.) and Ashley Spolarish (Maple Lake, Minn.) that gained the championship Saturday (9:41.18).

Also shining on Day 2 was the Beavers' 4x400-meter relay team. The quartet of Ashley Spolarich (Maple Lake, Minn.), Carla Perry (Lino Lakes, Minn.), LeDuc and Friend combined for a NSIC first place finish and BSU record in 4:00.27, while the 4x100-meter team of Shanna Anderson (Crane Lake, Minn.), Leah Grabil (Bagley, Minn.), Perry and LeDuc crossed the line in 50.27 for second place and All-NSIC honors.

Final Team Standings:
1) Winona State University 177
2) Wayne State College 142
3) Minnesota State-Moorhead 134
4) Northern State 117
5) Bemidji State University 94
6) Concordia St. Paul 17

1) Bemidji State University 228
2) Northern State 203
3) MInnesota State-Moorhead 83
4) Wayne State College 82
5) Concordia St. Paul 81


2005 NSIC Outdoor Track and Field Awards
Women's Coach of the Year - Keith Barnier (MSU Moorhead)

Men's Coach of the Year - Craig Hougen (Bemidji State)

Women's NSIC Outdoor Track Athlete of the Year - Christa Pribula (Bemidji
and Amelia Soto (Winona State)

Men's NSIC Outdoor Track Athlete of the Year - Dane Moreland (MSU
Moorhead) and Matt Scott (Northern State)

Women's NSIC Outdoor Field Events Athlete of the Year - Jessica Trautwein
(MSU Moorhead)

Men's NSIC Outdoor Field Events Athlete of the Year - Steve Schreiber
(Bemidji State)

Men's Newcomer of the Year - Jonathan Hawks (Bemidji State)

Women's Newcomer of the Year - Jessica Devine (Winona State), Katie Wilson
(Wayne State) and Ashley Spolarich (Bemidji State)