Bemidji State men pace field after first day of NSIC Championships
Friday, February 29, 2008
BEMIDJI, Minn. - With the first day of the 2008 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference in the books, the Bemidji State University track and field teams boast a pair of conference champions while the men's team sits in first place heading into the second day of competition.

BSU All-American throwers Sheena Devine (Sr., North Branch, Minn.) and Joe Remitz (Sr., North Branch, Minn.) each claimed NSIC championships in record-setting style. Devine surpassed her own school record to take the top spot in the weight throw marking a toss of 57-04.75. The throw not only added 19 inches to the previous BSU best, it also ranked as the 10th-longest throw in all of NCAA Division II this season and virtually cements her place in the event at the national championship meet March 14-17. Remitz successfully defended his NSIC shot put championship with a first-place mark of 59-07.50. The toss continued his march toward the 60-foot plateau adding over a foot to his previous season-best and school record.

Remits was not the only Beaver to place in the shot, sophomore Zac Preble (Coleraine, Minn.) stretched the tape 22 inches beyond his season-best to capture second place in the event with a 50-03.50.

Jon Clemons (Sr., Princeton, Minn.) scored eight points for the BSU men netting second place in the high jump clearing a height of 6-04.75.

Joining Devine on the awards podium for the women was M'Kelle Tomberlin (Cohasset, Minn.) who placed fifth in the long jump. The senior recorded a jump of 17-10.25 coming up just a fraction of an inch from her personal-best.

In addition to the individual awards winners Friday, the Beavers qualified seven student-athletes for Saturday's finals. Tomberlin earned a spot in the 55-meter dash finals; Kristi Buerkle (Fr., Forest Lake, Minn.) qualified in both the 200- and 400-meter dashes posting the second-fastest mark in the 400; and Sarah Dalton (Fr., St. Cloud, Minn.) will compete for the 55-meter hurdles championship tomorrow. On the men's side of things, Kyle Nooker (Jr., Green Bay, Wis.) qualified for the finals in the 200-meter dash; Sam Bofferding clocked one of the eight fastest times in the 400-meter preliminaries to earn a spot in tomorrow's championship race; and Preble will compete in the 55-meter hurdle finals.

The championship conclude tomorrow (Mar. 1) with field events beginning at 9 a.m. and running events getitng a 12:00 p.m. starting gun.

The BSU men scored a total of 38 teams points, including 10 earned by Preble in last week's heptathlon title, to hold a three-point lead over second-place University of Mary (35). Wayne State College sits in the No. 3 spot with 31 points while Northern State University (30.5), Minnesota State University, Moorhead (26) and Concordia University-St. Paul (25.5) round out the men's field.

In the race for the women's championship, Mary (N.D.) grabbed an eight-point lead over MSU-Moorhead (42). Wayne State finihed in third place with 18.5 while Northern State is just four points back in fourth. Bemidji State ended day one in fifth place with 13 points while Winona State University and Concordia-St. Paul round out the field with 11 and six points respectively.

2008 NSIC Indoor Championships
Schedule of Events
Saturday, March 1, 2008
Field Events 

9 a.m.   Weight Throw – Men
            Pole Vault – Women
            Triple Jump – Men
11 a.m. Shot Put – Women
            Triple Jump –  Women
Track Events
12 p.m.          Mile Finals – Women/Men
12:30 p.m.     55-Meter Hurdle Finals – Women/Men, 8 in Finals
12:45 p.m.     400-Meter Dash Finals – Women/Men, 8 in finals, 2 Hts, fast last
1 p.m.           600-Meter Dash Finals – Women/Men
1:15 p.m.      55-Meter Dash Finals – Women/Men, 8 in finals
1:30 p.m.      800-Meter Run Finals – Women/Men
1:45 p.m.      1,000-Meter Run Finals – Women/Men
2:05 p.m.      200-Meter Dash Finals – Women/Men, 8 in finals, 2 Hts, fast last
2:15 p.m.      5,000-Meter Run Finals – Women
2:40 p.m.      5,000-Meter Run Finals – Men
3 p.m.            4 x 400-Meter Relay Finals – Women/Men