BSU alums faceoff with current Beavers in Ninth Annual Alumni Meet
Saturday, January 8, 2011
BSU alums faceoff with current Beavers in Ninth Annual Alumni Meet

BEMIDJI, Minn. - The Bemidji State University men's and women's track and field teams welcomed back alumni on Saturday as they competed against current BSU track and field athletes in the Ninth Annual Alumni Meet at the Gillett Recreation-Fitness Center on the BSU campus.

The "Old Moldy Green" alumni squad was led by three athletes who captured two event titles apiece. Nicole Friend won the women's 800 meter run (2:33.13) and the women's long jump (4.73m). Kenny Miller captured titles in the men's 800 meter run (2:01.87) and men's mile run (4:37.36.) National Champion Sheena Remitz (Devine) took first in the women's shot put (12.70m) and women's weight throw (13.30m).

Kristi Buerkle (Sr., Stacy, Minn.) and Taylor Sautbine (So., Tamarack, Minn.) paced the 2011 BSU women's track and field squad with two event titles. Buerkle took first in the women's 200 meter dash (27.02) and the 400 meter dash (57.33). Sautbine took first in the women's 60 meter hurdles (9.81) and the triple jump (9.93m). 

For the current edition of the 2011 men's track and field squad, no athletes won more than one title. Members of the current Beaver squad captured three event titles including the men's 4x400 meter relay. Sam Bolferding (Sr., Marshall, Minn.) captured the men's 200 meter dash and Jacob Nelson (Fr., Pierz, Minn.) won the title for the 60 meter dash.  Brian Leonhardt (RS-Sr. Blaine, Minn.) was listed as unattached for the meet and won the title for men's weight throw (16.33m) beating out National Champion Joe Remitz (16.30m). Alumni captured men's titles in 10 events.

On the women's side, members of the current track and field squad won seven events led by Buerkle and Sautbine. The alumni of the women's track and field team captured titles in six events.

Bemidji State's indoor season will continue with the Super 8 Multi meet in Bemidji on Jan. 14 and Jan. 15. Events will commence at 7 p.m. on Friday and 1 p.m. on Saturday.