Beavers compete at NSIC Championships
Saturday, March 1, 2014
Beavers compete at NSIC Championships

BEMIDJI, Minn. – The Bemidji State University track and field team hosted the 2014 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) Championships Feb. 28-March1. The Beavers concluded the indoor season by establishing multiple personal records.

University of Minnesota Duluth won the team championship, while Samantha Rivard (28 points) from Minnesota Duluth was the top performer.

BSU Personal Records
Track Events

Nikki Anderson (So., Becker, Minn.)
60-Meter Hurdles – 9.80 – Previous – 9.88

Jayne Austin (Fr., Duluth, Minn.)
3,000-Meter Run – 12:26.73 – Previous – 12:27.73

Nicole Crummy (So., Argyle, Minn.)
800-Meter Run – 2:27.32 – Previous – 2:29.56

Brittany Koss (Fr., Grand Rapids, Minn.)
60 Meter Dash - 8.49 – Previous – 8.53
200 Meter Dash – 28.26 – Previous – 28.58

Chloe Miller (Fr., Baxter, Minn.)
60-Meter Hurdles – 9.71 – Previous – 9.75

Nicole Szech (Fr., Long Prairie, Minn.)
200 Meter Dash – 28.47 – Previous – 28.70

Sammie Taube (So., Fairbanks, Alaska)
800-Meter Run – 2:38.49 – Previous – 2:39.44

4x400 (Koss, Austyn Eng (So., Braham Minn.), Hailey Horob (So., Williston, N.D.), Nicole Crummy)
4:14.42 – Previous – 4:22.77

Field Events

Kaneeshia Johnson (So., Rosemount, Minn.)
Long Jump – 5.08m – Previous – 5.05m

Samantha Velde (Fr., Fergus Falls, Minn.)
Weight Throw – 12.82m – Previous – 12.02m

The Beavers now turn their attention to the outdoor season, which begins April 5 at the Hamline Invitational in St. Paul, Minn.

For more information on the Bemidji State track and field program, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).