Brewster leads Bemidji State at Beaver Twilight

Brewster leads Bemidji State at Beaver Twilight
Friday, February 19, 2016
Brewster leads Bemidji State at Beaver Twilight

BEMIDJI, Minn. (Gillett Recreation-Fitness Center) – Ciara Brewster led the Bemidji State University Track and Field team Friday at the BSU Twilight, taking first place in the shot put.

The senior took top honors with a throw of 40-feet, 8.75-inches, finishing just one inch short of her personal best. Brewster was the only top finisher for the Beavers, but many personal-bests were broken.

Coming in second, Jane Austin recorded a personal-best in the 3,000-meter run with a time of 11:36.64.

Three third-place finishes came from Sara Melom, who clocked a 1:00.39 in the 400-meter dash, Emeline Sevila, who finished the 200-meter dash in 26.63 and Samara Tobeck, who posted a toss of 44-08.00 in the weight throw. All three established new personal-best marks.

Seven other Bemidji State competitors broke personal-bests:

Autumn Huju, one-mile run (6:27.42)

Nikki Anderson, 60-meter hurdles (9.37)

Madison Kealy, 800-meter run (2:34.97)

Amanda Anderson, 800-meter run (2:38.87)

Courtney Anderson, 3,000-meter run (13:09.51)

Molly O’Neil, shot put (25-4)

Kaitlyn Christianson, shot put (33-8) and weight throw (40-3.5)

Next weekend Bemidji State travels to Mankato, Minn. to participate in the NSIC Indoor Championships. Events are scheduled to begin at noon Friday at Myers Fieldhouse on the campus of Minnesota State University, Mankato.

For more information on the Bemidji State athletic programs, tickets or schedules, visit, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).