Beavers complete Day 2 at Lyle Hokanson Classic

Beavers complete Day 2 at Lyle Hokanson Classic
Saturday, April 23, 2016
Beavers complete Day 2 at Lyle Hokanson Classic

FARGO, N.D. (Schlanser Track Complex) – The Bemidji State Women’s Track and Field team finished up day two at the Lyle Hokanson Classic at North Dakota State University Saturday. Sara Melom claimed the top finish for the Beavers with a 400-meter dash time of 1 minute, .01 seconds, good for a fifth place finish.

Notable Performances

Phillie Bacon continued to improve in the 3,000-meter steeplechase as she broke her personal-best time at 12:07.43.

Senior Chloe Miller set a personal-best long jump, leaping 16 feet, 5 inches.

Thrower Samara Tobeck had a career-best shot put with a throw of 31-10.

Samantha Velde finished 12th in Javelin Throw with a 105-8 throw. Regan Grube had a personal-best javelin throw of 94-3.

Freshman Christa Benson ran a 1:07.37 400-meter hurdle time for a personal-best.

Sarone Paulzine had a career-best 800-meter run time at 2:38.12 and a career-best 1,500-meter run time of 5:23.42. Amanda Anderson also set a personal-best 800-meter run time of 2:43.65.

Maria Jensen set a personal-best 1,500-meter run time at 5:30.91. Jane Austin also improved her personal-best 1,500-meter time at 5:39.34.

Next Up

On Tuesday Bemidji State heads over to Moorhead, Minn. to participate in the Cobber Twilight at Concordia College.

For more information on the Bemidji State athletic programs, tickets or schedules, visit, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like them on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" pull down menu on the main page of

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).