Coleman re-sets Bemidji State triple jump record at NDSU Tune-Up

Coleman re-sets Bemidji State triple jump record at NDSU Tune-Up
Friday, May 5, 2017
Coleman re-sets Bemidji State triple jump record at NDSU Tune-Up

FARGO, N.D. -- Alex Coleman was back at it again Friday, breaking her own Bemidji State University outdoor triple jump record to lead a small contingent of Beavers at the North Dakota State University Tune-Up. The senior broke her own triple jump record by nearly eight inches.

Coleman stretched the tape to 37 feet, 2 1/4 inches to place third in the meet. The jump extended the multi-event athlete's season-best and record mark of 36-6 ½ set April 21 at the Lyle Hokanson Classic. The jump also ranks her ranks her 11th among her Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference outdoor counterparts with just a week before the league’s 2017 outdoor championships.

In addition, Madison Kealy and Amanda Anderson competed in the 800-meter run. Kealy posted the Beavers’ best time in the event this season, clocking a 2:32.61 to place third. The sophomore trimmed nearly two seconds from her previous personal-best mark. Teammate Amanda Anderson finished sixth in the race, recording a time of 2:51.14.

Coleman, Kealy, Anderson and the rest of the BSU Track and Field Team will be back in action tomorrow when they travel across the Minnesota boarder to Moorhead, Minn. to compete in Minnesota State University-Moorhead’s Masanz Classic. Field events are set to begin at 10 a.m. and the starting gun for the first running event is set for 11 a.m.

For more information on the Bemidji State athletic programs, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers), like us on Facebook ( or sign up for the TXTUpdates from text-messaging system through the "Multimedia" menu at

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs. BSU’s NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey programs are members of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference.