Mbenoun wins 600m title at 2021 NSIC Indoor Championships

Mbenoun wins 600m title at 2021 NSIC Indoor Championships
Saturday, February 27, 2021
Mbenoun wins 600m title at 2021 NSIC Indoor Championships

MANKATO, Minn. (Myers Field House) -- Junior mid-distance runner Maryse Mbenoun became the first member of the Bemidji State University track & field program to earn an individual Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference title since 2011 as the team finished sixth at the 2021 NSIC Indoor Championships Saturday in Mankato Minn.

Mbenoun brought home the NSIC title in the 600m run with a time of 1:35.37, breaking her own indoor program record from a week ago. The individual indoor title is the first for BSU since Kristi Buerkle won the 400m dash at the 2011 NSIC Indoor Championships. Saturday’s meet was just the third of Mbenoun’s career with BSU.

Joining Mbenoun with all-conference honors was junior thrower Zoe Christensen who finished second in the shot put with a toss of 48-feet-06.25-inches (14.79m). Christensen’s throw hit the NCAA Division II provisional qualifying mark, the fourth time hitting the mark in the shot put this season.

Junior mid-distance runner Ryne Prigge also broke a BSU indoor record for the third straight week and the second time this season in the 800m run. Prigge finished just outside of all-conference consideration in fourth of the 800m run with a time of 2:15.31. She previously broke her own BSU indoor record in the event on Feb. 12 before hitting the NCAA DII provisional qualifying mark at the NSIC Indoor Championships.

BSU totaled 10 student-athletes who stepped up to the podium with top eight finishes in seven events, including Christensen, Mbenoun, Prigge, senior Libby Christenson with an eighth-place finish in the pentathlon, sophomore Tierra Doss with an eighth-place finish in the shot put, the distance medley relay team of Prigge, freshman Abby Syverson, freshman Mary Goodwin and freshman Zoey Milles with a seventh-place finish and the 4x400m relay team of sophomore Janice Cole, senior Aneesa Tucker, Christenson and Mbenoun with an eighth-place finish. Three Beavers set five personal records on the day.

Earlier this season, Bemidji State was voted to finish 10th in the NSIC Preseason Coaches' Poll before ultimately taking sixth at the 2021 NSIC Indoor Championships.

Team Rankings

  1. Minnesota State - 178
  2. Augustana - 155
  3. UMary – 105
  4. Winona State - 57
  5. Northern State – 44
  6. Bemidji State – 28
  7. St. Cloud State – 27
  8. Concordia-St. Paul – 26
  9. Minnesota Duluth – 25
  10. Wayne State – 22
  11. MSU Moorhead – 21
  12. Sioux Falls – 20
  13. Minot State – 14
  14. Southwest Minnesota State – 13
  15. Upper Iowa – 6

60m Dash
13. Alaina Hall – 7.81

600m Dash
1. Maryse Mbenoun – 1:35.37 (PR/BSU Record)

800m Run
4. Ryne Prigge – 2:15.31 (BSU Record/NCAA Provisional Qualifier)

Distance Medley Relay
7. Ryne Prigge, Abby Syverson, Mary Goodwin, Zoey Milles – 12:40.73

4x400m Relay
8. Janice Cole, Aneesa Tucker, Libby Christenson, Maryse Mbenoun – 4:04.06

Shot Put
2. Zoe Christensen – 14.79m/48-06.25 (NCAA Provisional Qualifier)
8. Tierra Doss – 13.37m/43-10.50

Weight Throw
9. Zoe Christensen – 16.41m/53-10.25
14. Tierra Doss – 13.94m/45-09.00

Pole Vault
14. Anastasia Klein – 3.04m/9-11.75

Triple Jump
12. Analise Fabre – 10.90m/35-09.25
15. Reygan Brown – 10.44m/34-03.00

8. Libby Christenson – 3,125 (PR)

Pentathlon – 60m Hurdles
10. Libby Christenson – 9.88

Pentathlon – High Jump
4. Libby Christenson – 1.58m/5-02.25 (PR)

Pentathlon – Shot Put
7. Libby Christenson – 9.96m/32-08.25

Pentathlon – Long Jump
10. Libby Christenson – 4.54m/14-10.75

Pentathlon – 800m Run
2. Libby Christenson – 2:28.41 (PR)

For more information on the Bemidji State athletic programs, tickets or schedules, visit BSUBeavers.com, follow the Beavers on Twitter (@BSUBeavers) or like them on Facebook (facebook.com/BSUBeavers).

Nestled in Northern Minnesota’s wooded region and located on the shore of Lake Bemidji, Bemidji State University sponsors 15 varsity athletic programs with NCAA Division I men’s and women’s hockey membership in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, while its 13 NCAA Division II programs hold membership in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).